Connect with us


INEC declares APC candidate, David Lyon, winner of Bayelsa governorship election



The Independent National Electoral Commission, INEC, has declared David Lyon, the candidate of the All Progressives Congress, APC, winner of the November 16 governorship election in Bayelsa State.

Announcing the result on Monday morning, the Returning Officer, Professor Faraday Orunmwese, said Mr Lyon polled a total of 352,552 votes to defeat his closest rival and candidate of the Peoples Democratic Party, PDP, Duoye Diri, who scored 143,172 votes.

Mr Orunmuwese said a total of 505,884 votes were cast, out of which 499,551 were counted as valid votes.

He added that a total of 922,562 voters registered for the election but 517,883 voters were accredited.

Mr Lyon won with a wide margin of over 180,000 votes, after winning in six out of eight local government areas of the state.

APC won in Brass, Ekeremor, Nembe, Ogbia, Southern Ijaw, and Yenagoa LGAs while Diri won in Kolokuma/Opokuma and Sagbama LGAs.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.